To learn more and explore space, visit Slooh.com.

Astronomers with the Slooh online observatory will stream live views of the “Super Pink Moon” in a free webcast today (April 7) at 7:30 p.m. EDT (2330 GMT), and you can watch it live in the window above, courtesy of Slooh.

The “Super Pink Moon” will be the largest “supermoon” of 2020. That’s because the moon reaches perigee, or the closest point to Earth in its elliptical orbit, on the same day as the full moon. Known as the “Pink Moon,” the full moon of April occurs today at 10:35 p.m. EDT (0235 GMT on April 8), just a few hours after the moon reaches perigee at 2:08 p.m. EDT (1808 GMT).

During the webcast, Slooh astronomer Paul Cox and his guests will discuss the science of the supermoon while showing live views from Slooh’s telescopes at the Institute of Astrophysics of the Canary Islands and in Chile.

Read more:

A comparison of the apparent size of a perigee moon, or

A comparison of the apparent size of a perigee moon, or “supermoon,” and an apogee moon (“minimoon”) as seen through Slooh’s Half Meter Telescope at its Canary Islands Observatory in 2015. (Image credit: Slooh)

From Slooh:

Slooh’s next mission is to livestream the second, and largest, in a trilogy of Supermoons — the Super Pink Moon on Tuesday, April 7t

Read More